Finance Ministry To Mint Commemorative ₹75 Coin For New Parliament Launch

The Ministry of Finance has announced that they will mint a unique commemorative ₹75 coin to celebrate the inauguration of the new Parliament building.

What Happened? Per a statement shared with CNBC TV-18, the coin, will be made of a quaternary alloy consisting of 50% silver, 40% copper, 5% nickel, and 5% zinc. Like any regular coin, this new one will be circular, with a diameter of 44 millimetres and 200 serrations around its edges.

The coin’s design features significant cultural and national symbols. The obverse side of the coin will display the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar at the centre. The inscription “सत्यमेि जयते” (Satyameva Jayate) will appear below the Lion Capitol.

See also: SEBI Gets Supreme Court Nod To Extend Adani-Hindenburg Probe Until August

The coin will also bear the word “भारत” (Bharat) in Devnagri script on the left periphery and the English “INDIA” on the right. The Indian Rupee symbol “₹” and the denomination “75” in international numerals will be located below the Lion Capitol.

On the reverse side, the coin will present an image of the new Parliament Complex. The coin will feature the inscription “संसद संकुल” (Sansad Bhavan) in Devnagiri script on the upper periphery, while the lower periphery will display “PARLIAMENT COMPLEX” in English. Additionally, the coin will carry the year “2023”, inscribed in international numerals below the image of the Parliament Complex.

Read next: India’s Fintech Players Advocate For Decentralised KYC Amid RBI’s High-Risk Warning

Don't miss a beat on the share market. Get real-time updates on top stock movers and trading ideas on Benzinga India Telegram channel.

Posted In: GovernmentMinistry of FinanceNew Coin